Zonal Level Contest of International Youth Climate Summit held at NSC, Delhi

24 September,2015

On 24th September 2015, Zonal level contest of the International Youth Climate Summit held at the National Science Centre, Delhi. All the three selected teams of City Level competitions from Delhi, Lucknow and Kurukshetra namely Amity International School, Saket, Delhi, Seth M R Jaipuria Public School, Lucknow and Gurukul Senior Secondary School, Kurukshetrarespectively participated in the Zonal Level Contest. The three contesting teams presented their concepts, ideas on climate changes. A panel of five judges evaluated their presentations andSeth M R Jaipuria Public School, Lucknow was adjudged as winner of the Zonal Level Contest.

On this occasion a popular science lecture on ‘Climate Changes and its effect on Himalayas’ was delivered by Professor A. P. Dimri, Professor, School of Environmental Science, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi. About 330 students and teachers attended the lecture.

Earlier, 30 teams from Delhi and National Capital Region of Delhi registered for the city level contest. 17 teams were selected for the first round of the contest. All the 17 teams were asked to present their ideas related to climate changes and their solution. A panel of three advisors from different fields related to climate changes interacted with the teams. The panel advised the teams in respect of more research, data collections, analysis etc. This interaction was organized at NSC, Delhi on 31st August 2015.

All the 17 teams once again presented their ideas on 12th August 2015 in the City Level Contest. A panel of three Judges evaluated the contesting teams and selected Amity International School, Saket, Delhi,for the next level i.e. Zonal Level Contest. All the team participants were given certificate of participation and souvenirs.

Similar City Level Contests were also organized at Regional Science Centre, Lucknow and Kurukshetra Panorama & Science Centre, Kurukshetra. Seth M R Jaipuria Public School, Lucknow and Gurukul Senior Secondary School, Kurukshetra were the winners from Lucknow and Kurukshetra respectively.