लद्दाख के डिस्केट अंगमा को राष्ट्रीय विज्ञान संगोष्ठी 2022 का विजेता घोषित किया गया

3 November,2022

Since 1982, National Science Seminar is organized every year by the National Council of Science Museums (NCSM)

Disket Angma from Govt. Higher Secondary School, Saspol Village, Ladakh was declared winner of the National Science Seminar 2022 organised by the National Council of Science Museums, Ministry of Culture, Government of India in Science City, Kolkata. This is the first time when Ladakh participated in the event after becoming a Union Territory. Yesterday, winners from 32 States and Union Territories participated in the National Science Seminar and deliberated on the topic “Basic Sciences for Sustainable Development: Challenges & Prospects” at Science City Kolkata. This is also the first time, that Science City, Kolkata hosted this prestigious and popular National Science Seminar.

A panel of five distinguished scientists, from different zones, namely Dr. Pradeep Kumar Srivastava, Former Dy. Director (Sr. Principal Scientist), CSIR-Central Drug Research Institute, Ministry of S & T, Govt. of India, Prof. Gopal Das, Dean Research & Development, Dept. of Chemistry, IIT Guwahati, Shri. Hoysala N Chanakya, Chief Scientist, Centre for Sustainable Technologies, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, Prof. B. N. Jagatap, Professor, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, Prof. Sugopa Sengupta, Assistant Professor, Department of Life Sciences, Presidency University, Kolkata adjudged the following participants as the winner and runner ups-






Disket Angmo (IX)

Govt. Higher Secondary School Saspol Village UT Leh-Ladakh



KM. Bombii Kato (X)

Ramakrishna Sarada Mission Girls School, Arunachal Pradesh

Runner Up


Kairavi Manjitsinh Chauhan (X)

Chidren’s Academy, Ashok Nagar, Kandivali, Maharashtra

Runner Up


Adrish Pati (X)

 Mount Litera Zee School, Contai, East Midnapur, West Bengal

Runner Up


Shiva Vinayak (IX)

St. Francis School, Deoghar, Jharkhand

Runner Up


Divyanshu Soni (IX)

Maharshi Vidya Mandir, Shahdol , Madhya Pradesh

Runner Up


Lakshya Jain (IX)

Jayshree Periwal High School , Rajasthan

Runner Up


Chirantan K. Hegde (X)

Ave Maria High School , Sirsi, Karnataka

Runner Up


Tsupongla Shillen (X)

Ministers’ Hill Baptist H.S. school, Kohima, Nagaland

Runner Up


Priyal Ratwan (IX)

DAV Public School Ghumarwin Himachal Pradesh

Runner Up


The winner received a Winner Trophy, a Certificate and a Scholarship of Rs. 48,000/-. The other nine runner-ups got a Runner-Up trophy, Certificate and scholarship of Rs. 24,000/- each. The other 22 participants will get a Certificate and a Scholarship of Rs. 12000/- each. A total amount of Rs. 5,28,000/- will be given as a scholarship.

The Seminar was inaugurated with the lighting of the lamp and an inaugural address by the Director, of Science City, Shri Anurag Kumar and a special address by Shri. A. D Choudhury. Director General, NCSM. Speaking on the occasion Shri A. D. Choudhury said - “The National Council of Science Museums (NCSM) has been organizing National Science Seminar (NSS) for School Students since 1982. This is an annual event where students from all parts of the country deliberate on a topic that is announced at the beginning of the academic year. Educating the younger generation on the concepts of sustainable development is a significant step towards bringing about change and building a new world that could support the needs of the present and future generations. I take this opportunity to thank the education departments of all the state governments/UTs for collaborating in this Science Seminar and encouraging students to participate.”

Shri Anurag Kumar, Director Science City, Kolkata said-, “It gives me immense pleasure to share that Science City, Kolkata hosted this prestigious seminar for the first time and the first time participant of National Science Seminar, Ladakh was adjudged winner of the Seminar. I hope more and more students will be inspired by the success of these students who come from remote areas and do miracles if they get opportunities

The Chief Guest of the inaugural function, Prof. Dhrubajyoti Chattopadhyay congratulated all the participants for making it to the National Science Seminar after completing their district-state level competitions and mentioned how the topic of this year’s seminar will generate interest among students all over the country. At the same time, Prof. Sanghamitra Bandyopadhyay, Director, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata and Chief Guest of the valedictory session shared about the prestigious Indian Statistical Institute and encouraged students to develop an interest in Mathematics.

The programme ended with a Vote of Thanks by Shri Basudev Mandal, Curator, Science City, Kolkata and National Coordinator of this seminar.


Satyajit N. Singh

Date: 04.011.2022 Public Relation Officer