I-13021/1 18.07.2023

To,

Under Secretary to the GoI, M.II Ministry of Culture, Shastri Bhavan New Delhi – 110 001

Sub: Lok Sabha Question Diary no. 1082 due for 24.07.2023 regarding programme to promote cultural institutions-reg.

Ref: Your e-mail dated 18.07.2023

Sir,

With reference to above, I am directed to furnish below materials for framing of appropriate reply to Lok Sabha Question Diary no. 1082 due for 24.07.2023 regarding programme to promote cultural institutions: -

Whether the Government | Not known to National Council of (a) initiated any program to Science Museums (NCSM). cultural However, for promote the purpose of institutions the popularization of Science across & country, especially in the Technology and developing a culture State of Uttar Pradesh and of Science in the country, Science if so, the details thereof Centres have been set up in different part of the Country as per Annexure 'A'. NCSM is also developing several science centres (as per Annexure 'B') under the Ministry of Culture's Scheme for Promotion of Culture of Science (SPoCS). Whether the Government is Not known to NCSM.

	providing grant in aid to	
	the State Govts in order to	
	promote their local culture;	
	and	
(c)	If so, the details thereof	Not applicable.
	and if not the reason	
	therefor.	

Thanking you,

Yours faithfully, Sd/-(Saurav Ghosh) Dy. CoA, NCSM

National Council of Science Museums (NCSM)

Science Museums/Science Centres set up by NCSM and are functioning under the administrative control of NCSM

S1. No.	Name of the NCSM Unit	Year of Establishment	Located in State/UT
1.	Birla Industrial & Technological Museum, Kolkata	May 02, 1959	West Bengal
2.	Visvesvaraya Industrial & Technological Museum, Bangalore	July 27, 1965	Karnataka
3.	Shri Krishna Science Centre, Patna	Apr 14, 1978	Bihar
4.	District Science Centre, Purulia	Dec 15, 1982	West Bengal
5.	District Science Centre, Gulbarga	Jan 6, 1984	Karnataka
6.	District Science Centre, Dharampur	Apr 27, 1984	Gujarat
7.	Nehru Science Centre, Mumbai	Nov 11, 1985	Maharashtra
8.	District Science Centre, Tirunelveli	Feb 27, 1987	Tamil Nadu
9.	Regional Science Centre, Lucknow	Sept 7, 1989	Uttar Pradesh
10.	Regional Science Centre, Bhubaneswar	Sep 18, 1989	Odisha
11.	National Science Centre, Delhi	Jan 9, 1992	Delhi
12.	Raman Science Centre & Planetarium, Nagpur	Mar 7, 1992	Maharashtra
13.	Central Research & Training Laboratory, Kolkata	Mar 13, 1993	West Bengal
14.	Regional Science Centre, Tirupati	Sep 23, 1993	Andhra Pradesh
15.	District Science Centre, Bardhaman	Jan 9, 1994	West Bengal
16.	Regional Science Centre, Guwahati	Mar 18, 1994	Assam
17.	egional Science Centre, Bhopal Jan 12, 1995		Madhya Pradesh
18.	District Science Centre, Dhenkanal	June 5, 1995	Odisha
19.	Sc. Park, Kapilas	June 5, 1995	Odisha
20.	Regional Science Centre & Planetarium, Calicut	Jan 30, 1997	Kerala
21.	Science City, Kolkata	July 1, 1997	West Bengal
22.	North Bengal Science Centre, Siliguri	Aug 17, 1997	West Bengal
23.	Digha Science Centre, Digha	Aug 31, 1997	West Bengal
24.	Kurukshetra Panorama And Science Centre, Kurukshetra	Mar 6, 2001	Haryana
25.	Goa Science Centre, Panjim	Dec 19, 2001	Goa
26.	Palampur Science Centre, Palampur	May 14, 2022	Himachal Pradesh

Science Centres developed by NCSM and handed over to States/UT's after inauguration

S1. No.	Science Centers/Museums	Year of Establishment	Located in State/UT
1.	Science Centre, Port Blair	May 30, 2003	A & N Island
2.	Mizoram Science Centre, Aizwal	July 26, 2003	Mizoram
3.	Nagaland Science Centre, Dimapur	September 14, 2004	Nagaland
4.	Manipur Science Centre, Manipur	May 18, 2005	Manipur
5.	Arunachal Pradesh Science Centre, Itanagar	Dec 3, 2005	Arunachal Pradesh
6.	Shillong Science Centre, Shillong, Meghalaya	Feb 27, 2006	Meghalaya
7.	Sikkim Science Centre, Gangtok	February 22, 2008	Sikkim
8.	Sub-Regional Science Centres, Kalimpong	October 2, 2008	West Bengal
9.	Sub-Regional Science Centre, Solapur	February 14, 2010	Maharashtra
10.	Regional Science Centre, Ranchi	November 29, 2010	Jharkhand
11.	Dharwad Regional Science Centre	February 27, 2012	Karnataka
12.	Chhattisgarh Science Centre, Raipur	July 13, 2012	Chhattisgarh
13.	Regional Science Centre, Jaipur	December 29, 2012	Rajasthan
14.	Pimpri Chinchwad Science Centre, Pune	February 8, 2013	Maharashtra
15.	Jorhat Science Centre & Planetarium	July 6, 2013	Assam
16.	Regional Science Centre, Coimbatore	May 6, 2013	Tamilnadu
17.	Sub Regional Science Centre, Jodhpur	August 17, 2013	Rajasthan
18.	Regional Science Centre, Pilikula, Mangalore	October 01, 2014	Karnataka
19.	Dr. Abdul Kalam Science Centre &	May 03, 2015	Puducherry
	Planetarium, Puducherry		· ·
20.	Regional Science Centre, Dehradun	Feb 03, 2016	Uttarakhand
21.	Bargarh Science Centre, Bargarh	January 21, 2020	Odisha
22	Udaypur Science Centre, Tripura	February 28,2021	Tripura

ANNEXURE-B

New Science Centres ready to be inaugurated/to be set up under Scheme for Promotion of Culture of Science (SPoCS) of the Ministry of Culture

S1. No.	New Science Centres ready to be inaugurated/to be set up under Scheme for Promotion of Culture of Science (SPoCS) of the Ministry of Culture	Located in State/UT	To be inaugurated/Tentative date of completion of the project
01	Regional Science Centre, Kottayam	Kerala	Handed over to Govt. of Kerala on 11.05.2022 and the Centre is ready for inauguration.
02	Sub-Regional Science Centre, Gaya	Bihar	Scheduled to be inaugurate on 20.07.2023
03	Sub- Regional Science Centre, Almora	Uttarakhand	31.12.2023
04	Sub-Regional Science Centre, Udaipur	Rajasthan	31.12.2023
05	Sub-Regional Science Centre, Kokrajhar	Assam	31.12.2023
06	Science Centre, (Category-II) Rajahmundry	Andhra Pradesh	31.12.2023
07	Science Centre (Cat-II), Ujjain	Madhya Pradesh	October, 2025
08	Science Centre (Cat-II), Srinagar	Jammu & Kashmir	February, 2026
09	Science Centre, (Cat-II) Bikaner	Rajasthan	June, 2026
10	Science City, Guwahati	Assam	2025-2026
11	Science Centre (Cat-II), Ambala	Haryana	Presently the construction work has been suspended by the State Govt.
12	Science City, Dehradun (Design finalized, BOQ under preparation by Architect)	Uttarakhand	60 months from the date of issue of LoI.
13	Science Centre, (Cat-II) Jabalpur [Building plan approval awaited from local authorities in order to issue LOI to the agency to start the construction work]	Madhya Pradesh	36 months from the date of issue of LoI.
14	Science Centre, (Cat-II) Ajmer [MoU has been signed by the State Govt. Architect has been selected]	Rajasthan	-do-
15	Science Centre, (Cat-II), Kota [Architect selection process to be initiated soon]	Rajasthan	-do-
16	Science Centre (Cat-II), Shivamogga [Architect selection process has been initiated]	Karnataka	-do-