Network (Own Units)

Centres under NCSM

NCSM has developed its own Nationwide network of 25 Science Museums/Centres. Among 25 centres, divided into North, South, East, North East and West Zones, there are 6 National Level Centres namely Science City, Kolkata, Birla Industrial and Technological Museum (BITM), Kolkata, Nehru Science Centre (NSC), Mumbai, Vishvesvraya Industrial and Technological Museum (VITM), Bangluru, National Science Centre (NSC), Delhi and Central Research & Training Laboratory, Kolkata. Central Research & Training Laboratory (CRTL) based at Kolkata is the Council’s central hub for professional training, research and development. Except Science City, Kolkata other National Level centres have Regional and Sub-Regional/District Level centres under its control and are called Satellite Units (SUs).

Zone Wise list of NCSM centres and their Satellite Units are as below:


North Zone

Name of the Centre National Science Centre, Delhi
Satellite Units Regional Science City, Lucknow
Kurukshetra Panorama and Science centre, Kurukshetra

West Zone

Name of the Centre Nehru Science Centre, Mumbai
Satellite Units Raman Science Centre & Planetarium, Nagpur
Regional Science Centre, Bhopal
Regional Science Centre & Planetarium, Calicut
Goa Science Centre, Panjim
District Science Centre, Dharampur

East Zone

Name of the Centre Birla Industrial & Technological Museum, Kolkata
Satellite Units Regional Science Centre, Bhubaneswar
Shri Krishna Science Centre, Patna
District Science Centre, Purulia
District Science Centre, Bardhaman
District Science Centre, Dhenkanal
Science Park, Kapilas
North Bengal Science Centre, Siliguri
Digha Science Centre , Digha

North East Zone

Satellite Unit Regional Science Centre, Guwahati

South Zone

Name of the Centre Visvesvaraya Industrial & Technological Museum, Bangalore
Satellite Units Regional Science Centre, Tirupati
District Science Centre, Gulbarga
District Science Centre, Tirunelveli

In addition to its own centres, NCSM has developed Science Centres/museums for different States and Union Territories of India. NCSM has also developed several centres and galleries for different Govt. organsiations such as ONGC, BEL, ICAR and also collaborated internationally for development of Museum/Science Centres or for galleries such as Rajiv Gandhi Science Centre, Mauritius, ‘India gallery on Buddhism’ at ‘International Buddhist Museum’, Sri Lanka etc. Today, NCSM forms the largest network of science centres and museums in the world.